This has previously been called the “Android Device Manager.” Currently, it’s called Google’s Find My Device, which allows you to find lost tablets and phones.
And there will be situations in life where we’ll be feverishly looking for our expensive tablets and phones. Sometimes, our devices may be out of sight, yet close by. They may be hidden under a furniture piece, or in an area our eyes can’t catch.
But at other times, we may lose our phones completely. They may be robbed in public, or we may forget them in a public area (such as a bus or a park). In that case, the application of “Find My Device” really helps a lot!
This feature works like many locators or other phone services, such as Find My Mobile for Samsung, and Lookout. But here, we’re going to give a guide on how to use the feature.
So keep reading…..
Start the settings
Many devices can work for the Find My Device feature, but you’ll need a login to a Google account. This will be online, where you’ll need to switch on the location feature.
Certain phones contain security features that prevent the deleting of data by the erase function. But to be safe, if you’re using a new Android phone, do the following. Head to Settings > Google > Security. At Android Device Manager, enable the locator, and make sure it is the default. To allow data wipe by remote, click the slider. It’s close to “Allow remote lock and erase.”
Through older devices, you can start the Google Settings app, and after that click Android Device Manager. If you want to start a remote data delete, click the box by “Allow remote factory reset,” then click Activate.
You can easily get the Find My Device app on Play Store. You should install the app on a different device. Also, many apps exist with similar names, so pick one with the developer “Google Inc.”
After that, log into your Google. If asked for permission for the app to use data about locations, accept.
After logging in, a dashboard will appear that indicates your phone’s location. You also have some additional options on the dashboard.
Check device location…
After opening the Find My Device app, you should start by looking for your device. The location will be showed automatically, but it’s approximate, and requires that your device has active GPS. Without GPS on your lost device, the app is useless.
If your phone was robbed and you know where it is exactly, call the police instead of attempting to get it again yourself.
If you want the exact device spot, trying calling it. It should ring out loud, indicating where you can find it. This feature will force your Find My Device app to ring at full volume for about 5 minutes, enabling an easier search.
You can find your device a lot faster this way. It’s especially useful, if you want to expose your stolen device by ringing for it. The thief will also be exposed, which is good if local authorities are present to detain them.
It’s also useful using sound if the device is close by. For example, if the device is in a bag you can’t see, or in a different close by room, then using sound helps.
After the device gets back to you, simply click the power button to suppress its ringing.
You can also lock your device by remote. This keeps your device safe. After locking, you can add a phone number and recovery message, both displayable on your screen.
You should add a phone number if your device is lost. This allows anyone finding the device to reach you easier by tapping call.
But, if your device was robbed, the call feature’s going to be useless. Regardless, it is good to lock your device, as it prevents robbers from using it. You’ll still need an internet connection though to use the lock feature.
Locking your phone makes sure that sensitive information stays safe. It may be anything from sensitive conversations, to intriguing pictures that you don’t want to share.
In fact, we would venture to say that locking should be on top of your “lost phone list.” In other words, if you lose your phone, you must lock it immediately. After that, be safe to search for it using the app.
This is a drastic option. You should go for this if you want a full data wipe to factory state. Wiping out all of your device’s data is necessary if you need to protect your personal information. This deletes your photos, apps, music, and settings. The device has to be online to receive the erase command, but you can send it offline. In that case, the erase will trigger after the device goes online again. After erasing, you won’t be able to access your device by app anymore.
The erase function shouldn’t affect external memory cards though, which is kind of bad. Regardless, erasing most of the content of your phone is more beneficial in a robbery.